Curriculum R-6

Our vision and values below underpin the development of learning programs.


A cohesive community of lifelong learners


  • respect
  • responsibility
  • fairness


  • excellence in education and care B-6
  • innovative lifelong learning for all
  • social inclusion

Woodville Gardens School is a purpose built facility which supports the use of 21st century skills. The learning program includes all of the 8 learning areas that are determined by the Australian Curriculum. Areas of Learning are often integrated to ensure that learning is personalised, relevant and contextualised e.g. children may develop in the area of language while researching health topics or science topics.

All children Reception to Year 6 learn in the following curriculum areas:

Australian Curriculum

English which includes language, literature and literacy

Mathematics which includes number and algebra, measurement and geometry, statistics and probability.

Science which includes science understanding, science as a human endeavour and science inquiry skills.

Biological, chemical, physical, earth and space sciences.

Humanities and Social Sciences (HASS) which include history, geography, civics and citizenship and economics and business.

The Arts which includes dance, drama, media arts, music and visual arts.

Languages which includes study of the Vietnamese language and culture.

Health and Physical Education which personal, social and community health and movement and physical activity.

Technologies which include design and technologies and digital technologies.

The use of computers and the development of information technology skills are integrated in all areas of the curriculum.

At Woodville Gardens School we have a strong focus on numeracy and literacy, as well as incorporating health and physical education; performing arts (music) and visual arts; culture and languages and information and communication technologies across the curriculum.

See Website: